Hot German Style Potato Salad

This is a recipe my mother had gotten from the owner of a German deli she used to get this potato salad. My dad just emailed me the recipe last night. I made some today and everyone, including my husband, likes it. I will post what my dad sent me with comments about the things that I changed, due to what I actually had in the house at the time. I don’t have a picture of this one. I think I may have cooked the potatoes too long, so it doesn’t look as good as it could. I will try something different next time I make it and perhaps take a picture of it then.

  • 4-5 large potatoes
  • 2-3 German Style Pickles ( I used the regular dill pickle spears I had)
  • Pickle Juice
  • Oil
  • Apple Vinegar (I only had regular vinegar- it worked out okay)
  • Pastrami (I didn’t use this at all)
  • Maggi Sauce
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Boil potatoes with skin on until done. Let potatoes cool, the peel them. Cut into chunks – whatever size you like the chunks . (I may try peeling and cutting them up before cooking them next time) Slice pickles, shred pastrami in whatever size you would like.

Add potatoes to large bowl, add sliced pimyself Ickles pickles, add shredded pastrami, add 1/4 cup pickle juice (I used 1/2 cup), add 1/4 cup oil, add Maji sauce,salt and pepper to taste. If needed you can add apple vinegar for tartness (My dad skips this step, I used regular vinegar). Now depending on the weather conditions you may want to adjust any of the amounts. I prefer to let it sit for an hour – then reheat doing any adjustments at that time and maybe have the bottle of Maji sauce on the table for last minute addition to individual taste. If you are going to serve it cold the cook all things together for 15 minutes then let it cool and enjoy. (I like it better served warm.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Salad

Leave a Reply

