Cucumber Salad

I made this today for lunch to go with the Beef Sausage Cheeseballs. I really like this salad. I’ve made a few variations of it in the past. I also think the longer it sits in the fridge the better it tastes.

The basic recipe is:
1 cucumber, thinly sliced
1/2 onion, thinly sliced
1 cup water
1 cup vinegar
4-6 teaspoons sugar (some people prefer more)
salt and pepper to taste

Mix it all up in a bowl and let sit in the fridge.

Variations (I have used multiple variations at once in the past):

  • add chopped tomatoes
  • use thinly sliced purple/red onion instead of yellow
  • shredded purple cabbage
  • use red wine vinegar instead of plain vinegar
  • Today I totally left the onions out, my oldest son doesn’t like onions. A little later I added some tomato to the mix. I have posted pictures with and without the tomato.

    1 Comment

    Filed under Salad

    One response to “Cucumber Salad

    1. those beef sausages look awesome! salad of course too!

      Hey, i can’t see your posts on your other blog…i need a password?

    Leave a Reply

    